Posted by: imranadeel | July 22, 2010

My Latest Psychedelic/Prog-Rock Discovery: Jane

22nd July 2010.

A friend of mine asked me to search for a German band “Jane” on youtube and listen to their album “Together.” I found the album, and listened to the tracks “Spain” 1 and 2. And by golly, I was taken away. The sound is so rich, and the music is so deep, it is somewhat similar to the great Pink Floyd’s Echoes album. I got hooked to it right away. It’s good to know that Prog-rock clicked in other countries as well, other than UK. At the same time, I am surprised as to why we haven’t heard of these fellows before. The stuff they produced is so well that I haven’t even listened to anything other than Spain yet. I will listen to the rest when I get out of it.

And what’s even better, is that these guys are still playing. You can check their website and complete discography at www.jane-music.com.

Thank you Sina K, for the great introduction.

Imran.

Responses

  1. I am glad that someone has started talking about the real music rather than discussing the New CON.fusion Music (e.g: coke studio).

    It is not bad to also mention some great progressive bands.. like: Camel, Eloy, Tangerine Dream, Omega… who’ve been producing some great melodies shoulder to shoulder with Pink Floyd.


Leave a Reply

Categories

